An Evening with a Legend honoring
Michael Phelps

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Hilton Americas-Houston

6:30 p.m. | Cocktail Reception
7:00 p.m. | Dinner and Program

Business Attire

Valet and self parking available at the Hilton Americas-Houston.

Honorary Chairmen
Carmen and Butch Mach
Kelli and John Weinzierl

Event Co-Chairmen
Shelley Barineau
Julie Bergen
Ned Torian
Kathy Zay

Register Now!

Texas Children’s Cancer Center will celebrate its 12th year of An Evening with a Legend with an event honoring our 2017 Legend, Michael Phelps. This memorable evening will feature an informal interview with Michael Phelps about his journey to become a gold medal legend and what is in store for the next phase of his life. The interview will be led by Andrea Kremer, NFL Chief Correspondent; HBO Correspondent; and CBS Sports Co-Host.

Gold is the signature color of the childhood cancer awareness ribbon, and no one personifies going for the gold more than Michael Phelps. This legendary Olympian has redefined our ideals of what is possible for human skill and endurance. In five Summer Games, he won 23 gold medals and 28 overall medals! Phelps has more world records and world championship medals than any other swimmer in history and has created a legacy that may never be replicated.

As we celebrate Michael Phelps’ astounding accomplishments, we believe that his story of fight and endurance give our patients hope that they can fight this insidious disease. These patients are truly the legends of our hearts, and your support of An Evening with Michael Phelps will make a difference in their lives.

We hope you can join us for this incredible evening!

If you would like to register for this event or would like more information, please contact Kelley Hernandez at or 832-824-6917.

View full listing of all levels and their benefits here.

Previous Legends
2016 – Chancellor William H. McRaven
2015 – President George W. Bush
2013 – Paul Azinger, Butch Harmon, Mark O’Meara and Ken Venturi
2012 – Gloria Gaynor, Nile Rodgers and The Pointer Sisters
2011 – Robert Duvall
2010 – The Junction Boys of Texas A&M
2009 – Col. B. Aldrin, Capt. A. Bean, Capt. G. Cernan and Capt. J. Lovell
2008 – Denton A. Cooley, M.D.
2007 – Darrell K Royal
2006 – Roger Clemens
2005 – Lance Armstrong

View photos from last year’s 11th anniversary event honoring Chancellor William H. McRaven.

©2017 Texas Children's Hospital. All rights reserved. Privacy Practices | Terms of Use

Join the conversation

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software